Australian Government Awards in Africa

AAA is delighted to offer a master studentship. All students regardless of citizenship are eligible to apply for this studentship. Applications are invited up to December 12, 2014.

The Australia Awards in Africa (AAA) (formerly Australian Development Scholarships, ADS), an initiative of the Australian Government, is a pan-African program of development scholarships and fellowships that offers 1,000 postgraduate scholarships each year to eligible African professionals. The Australia Awards currently comprise two types of scholarship: Australian Awards Scholarships (the Master Awards), to undertake higher degree studies in Australia at Masters level AND Australia Awards - Africa Fellowships, to undertake short-term, targeted professional training courses, in Australia and/or in Africa, in a range of development-focused sectors (the Africa Fellowships the Australia Awards Fellowships).

Application Requirements
You are only eligible for an award if these apply:.
- You must not be more than 50 years of age at the date of your application.
- You must have at least three (3) years relevant post graduate work experience. This work experience must be in a role relevant to your proposed field of study and to your employment organisation type (e.g. public sector applicants should demonstrate public sector work experience, and so on). Preference will be given to candidates with greater periods of experience.
- You possess, as a minimum, a Bachelors degree (or the equivalent) from a recognized Institution of at least 4 years in length with at least a 3rd Class Pass.
- Public sector candidates must comply with Government of your country regulations for government employees wishing to apply for scholarships.
- Public sector, private sector and civil society candidates must provide evidence of completion of the National Youth Service Corp (NYSC) (for Nigerian candidates - visit for country specific requirements) when they apply.
- You must not already hold, or be studying for, a Masters degree.
- You must be willing to make a formal commitment to return to your current employment following completion of the award

Target groups.
- You are a national of an African country. See country list below.
- You are an early or mid-career professional working in the Public Sector, the Private Sector or a Non-Government Organisation (Civil Society) in one of the listed priority fields of study.
- You wish to undertake a Masters degree in Australia in one of the listed priority fields of study. You can not study a Masters of Business Administration.
- You have a clear vision for how you will use the knowledge gained through the Masters degree to improve policy, practice or education in the proposed field of study.
- Gender Equality: Australia Awards target equal participation by women and men. Applications from women are strongly encouraged, and mechanisms are in place to support women applicants and Awardees.
- Disability Inclusion: Australia Awards aim to ensure that people with a disability are given fair and equal opportunity to compete for and obtain a scholarship. Applications from people with a disability are strongly encouraged. Mechanisms are in place to support applicants and Awardees requiring specific assistance.

African Countries:. 
 - Algeria, Angola, Benin, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroun, Cape Verde, Comoros, Congo (Republic of), Djibouti, Egypt, Ethiopia, The Gambia, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Malawi, Mali, Mauritius, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Rwanda, Sao Tome Principe, Senegal, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Tunisia, Uganda, Zambia.
- In addition to the above, the following countries were eligible for the Short Course Awards (SCAs) for the 2013 Intake: Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Cote d'Ivoire, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Mauritania, Niger, North Sudan, Republic of Guinea, South Sudan

How to apply?
Fields of study: Masters level, Doctoral level and Short term professional training courses in various fields specific for different countries (see ' country specific details ' on official website via link below). The award types and priority fields are listed out and explained below.

 Award types include:
- Short Course Awards are available for studies in a range of priority sectors including Agriculture, Maternal and Child Health, Mining Governance and Public Policy. Studies are conducted at locations in Africa and in Australia for periods up to 3 months. Short course awards are available to eligible applicants from 51 African countries.
- Long-Term Awards are postgraduate scholarships that lead to an academic qualification from an Australian university. For studies commencing in 2014, Long-Term Awards are available to eligible applicants from 28 African countries.

You need to obtain complete country-specific information, eligibility criteria and application process for the two types of awards. You can get this by going to your ' country page ' on the official website. When you visit the official country page OR the Africa country map; select your country of origin (if country page) OR hover over the Africa map (if Africa country map). Follow the country-specific details and instructions . Applications from women and people with disability are strongly encouraged.

The closing date for the 2015/16 Australia Awards Scholarships is 12 December 2014 for Masters level Awards and 16 January 2015 for the Africa Fellowships.

Scholarship Summary

Get latest scholarships via your email! It's free!
Remember to check your email and active the subscription.
You can unsubscribe any time.
Copyright © 2015 All Right Reserved.